Hello folks.

It’s been awhile, I know, but I hope you remember me. I’m the teacher/writer-who-wanted-to-write-full-time. And now, for better or worse, here I am with writing as my DAY JOB!!! WOOT!!!

Ahem…

About six months ago, I let y’all in on my plan to change The Brass Rag into a writer’s blog. Since then, well – I’ve been moving. Not physically, but mentally, emotionally, and maybe even spiritually; I’ve been shifting focus and that has been a surprisingly complicated process. Hence the lack of presence here at TBR. (Is it a coincidence that the acronym also stands for To Be Read? Hmmm.)

Question for you:

Now that writing IS my day job, I am hoping to post three to four times a month here on TBR for Indie Authors. So I thought I’d ask – what topics would you like to see covered? What kind of information do you need? Send me your requests and I will do my best to post about them. If I don’t have sufficient background knowledge, I’ll find someone who does, which leads me to my next topic.

Taking Submissions

As you can see ⬆️, I’m taking submissions. Topics desired range from editing to marketing, author/reader events to craft. If you have a post you’d like to submit, write me at cheri@brassragpress.com, or contact me on BRP’s Facebook page.

Proposed rules of thumb:

Posts should be non-fiction, writing related

Length should be 500 – 800 words

Pictures, if any, must be owned by the contributor.

Links must be tested and working

Posts are subject to light editing, but should be print ready when submitted

The Money Question

As this is a collective (think sixties hippie commune) effort, TBR does not have the resources to pay for content 😞.  However, contributors are encouraged to include links to services (their own or a trusted resource), books, etc. These should be limited and always as an added bonus, never the main focus of the post.

I am excited about this new adventure. I would like to see Brass Rag Press become an Indie Author haven. A place where we can talk about craft and marketing and life, and help one another reach whatever level or type of writing success we are after. To do that, I need your help. So – in the words of the inimitable Spice Girls – Tell me what you want, what you really, really want,” writing-wise that is.

Let’s make this happen together.

 

Leave a Reply

