Banratty Monument
It’s a very good life.

What am I most thankful for?

I don’t know that I can answer that question with any quantitative accuracy.

Like anyone, I have challenges and disappointments, but when all the beads are counted, my string stretches unbelievably long. Enough so that the counting of my blessings is a humbling experience. One that leaves me shaking my head, wondering how in Heaven’s sweet name I ever became so blessed.

I say, “became so blessed,” because I know, for a fact, that I have done no deed so phenomenally, Earth shatteringly good, as to deserve the wealth of beauty and love that graces my life. But I have it anyway.

So today, of all days, I take a little time to count them over, like crystal beads on a blue string. Family, friends, faith, home, health, career, each one precious – and I am grateful beyond the power of words to express it.

Instead, I’ll just say Happy Thanksgiving everyone.

Leave a Reply

