Today we are privileged to have a guest post by Tracie Roberts, author of the Elan TracieRobertsSeries. And don’t forget to check out the great sale at the bottom of this post!

Enjoy:

Many times when I share with others that I had practiced Wicca a few years back, I get that look. You know the one–it starts with the implication of, “Oh, isn’t that devil worship?” and ends with a quizzical stare suggesting, “What is that exactly?”

Well, I’m going to share with you what I learned about Wicca, and how my spiritual walk has evolved into something beyond most traditional religious paths.

What Wicca is…

I’m summarizing what I remember from my own practice, so if I forget something it is because I didn’t use it in my practice or I simply don’t remember it. Any of the authors I mention can be found on Amazon and readers can go there to learn more for themselves.

When I began studying Wicca, it was because I was disenchanted with organized religion. I had many questions about Christianity and found some inconsistencies with doctrine. I know some people will tell me that there are no contradictions in God’s word. I’m not arguing that here. I am simply telling you what I felt and how I dealt with it.

As I started practicing the Craft, I read many books in whole and in part on becoming a witch. Some authors I really got into (Trish Telesco, Silver Ravenwolf); others freaked me out a little (Scott Cunningham). What I gathered from my studies is–like most information, you take what you need and discard the rest. So I took the parts about building and grounding energy, visualizing the outcomes I wanted in a particular situation, using stones, herbs, and chants to create an atmosphere of change, and revering nature and used that to focus on bettering myself, not harming others.

In fact, the Wiccan Rede pushes that point–do what you want for yourself as long as it doesn’t harm others.

I’ll admit, my study was somewhat shallow and self-serving, mostly because as a creative person I get distracted easily with new ideas. But the most important lessons I learned from my practice is to find things out for yourself. Don’t let someone else tell you what you should believe, or how to interpret spiritual texts, or how to worship your deity. Learn for yourself how to do these things. Take responsibility for your spiritual growth and your shortcomings. It will lead to becoming more self-aware.

What Wicca is not…

It’s not devil worship. Wiccans don’t even believe in the devil. Satan is a contrived persona of Christianity meant to represent the evil in the world. At least that’s what I read many times.

It’s not this feel-good, do-what-you-want religion that I thought it was. It has rituals and specific protocol and a leadership hierarchy that I just didn’t learn. (See previous section). I wanted it to be unencumbered. Fun. Easy.

It’s not. It’s work, sometimes scary work, dealing with heavy, dark issues. But I chose not to do the work because I didn’t want that heaviness in my life.

What I practice now…

Though I abandoned Wicca a few years ago, I still hold some of its tenants as sacred. The Wiccan Rede, the Rule of Three, the concept of duality are all important to me. I try not to hurt anybody with my words or actions. I believe in karma because I’ve seen it in action. And no one can discount the good and evil that coexists in today’s society.

Now, I call myself a Christian eclectic. I believe in Jesus Christ and follow most of the Christian doctrines, but I also revere nature. I don’t attend regular Sunday worship, but I talk to God every day.  I try to treat others the way I want to be treated, and I strongly believe what comes around goes around. I believe in the duality of good and evil, and there’s a combination of both in most of us.

The practice of Wicca found its way into my first series, The Élan Series; but like me, my main character Tara went through a change over the course of the series. Initially, she felt the draw of spirituality in Wicca, but later realized that it wasn’t the ritualistic practice that attracted her. It was the ability to practice the way she wanted. Eventually, she too, leaves the formality behind and exercises her religious freedom.

And grows as a person.

~Be blessed.

Author Bio:

Tracie Roberts is a native Floridian who laughs loudest at her own jokes, ODs quite frequently on 80s nostalgia, and eavesdrops on imperfect strangers to glean story ideas. She’s been writing for all of four years but has been telling stories since she was old enough to realize she could make people believe her lies.

Find out more about Tracie’s future works at tracieroberts.com or connect with her on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

Website        Amazon Author Page      Facebook       Twitter        Instagram

Empty table and winter background

Leave a Reply

