Our contest winner is Chrissy Jackson. You may have seen her bio last Friday. She is an accomplished author and leader in the FWA and we are pleased to present her winning entry here. (My apologies for the delay. There was a scheduling mixup which I hope you will forgive.) Enjoy.

Her Last Kiss

“Um, I should probably tell you. I think I’m going to get kissed tomorrow.”

“Really?”

“Well, it’s the last day of school and I told Hal I wanted a kiss, so if he doesn’t come to me, I’m most likely going to go to him.”

“Will this be your first kiss?”

“Yeah.”

“It’s probably about time. You’re fifteen now. I think I was fourteen.”

######

                “Oh, geez! Grandma, he kissed me.”

“You don’t sound too excited about it. How was it?”

“It was the worst! I hated it! I’m never doing it again.”

“What was so bad?”

“Grandma, you just don’t know! It was awful! I don’t know why people do it.”

“Well, sweetie, most people like it.”

“Not me. Man, I just wanted a kiss. But I don’t want any more.”

“Where did it happen?”

“It was at the top of the stairs, where there’s no camera. He kind of grabbed me, and I knew I wasn’t going to like it. He smelled like school pizza.”

“That doesn’t sound good.”

“It was worse than awful. I hate school pizza. And then I tasted it for the rest of the afternoon.”

“Didn’t you have anything to get rid of the taste?”

“No, and that wasn’t the worst part either. He bit my ear!”

“Really.”

“Yes, really. And I hated it. Why did he think he had to bite me? I just wanted a kiss. I didn’t know he was going to pretend to be Dracula.”

“Honey, that’s part of kissing sometimes. Just gentle nips on the ear. It’s okay.”

“No, it isn’t. Not for me. Grandma, that’s just slimy. I’m not doing it ever again.”

“So, that was it? A nip on the ear and pizza breath?”

“No, then it got worse. He was trying to squeeze me and I had my books in my arms. Then, after he bit my ear, he breathed on my neck.”

“Yeah—“

“Yeah, and he had hot breath and it was all over my neck. I thought he was going to lick me or something. He was so close; like, he was in my space, you know?”

“Um, yeah, I know. Guys have to get in your space if they’re going to get close enough to kiss you.”

“Not any more, they don’t. That’s the last of that.”

“So, your first kiss wasn’t really nice, was it?”

“It was the worst thing that’s ever happened in my whole life . . . well, maybe not my whole life, but it was pretty bad.”

“At least it was only one kiss, huh?”

“No, he tried to do it again! When I like, tried to back up, he squeezed me with his arm and tried to kiss me again. That school pizza smell was everywhere. It was gross!”

“Bet you’re glad it’s over, huh?”

“Yeah, and if I ever have sex, there’s gonna be a no kissing rule.”

Leave a Reply

