It’s the end of 2013.

I’m hanging out on the couch, watching the Jane Lynch countdown and hoping that these fireworks don’t wake up my kids, because I somehow became That Mom this year.

I make resolutions every year, but I never keep them. Literally never. I have never run that 5K, never actually finished a book, never quit smoking. I mean, I don’t actually smoke, but I still have never successfully quit. So, there’s that.

I’m refusing to call them resolutions. This year, they are just goals.

I’m going to run that stupid 5K. My sister and I are running the Color Run. or Color me Rad, maybe. Something where you run and they throw colored powder at you so you can asphyxiate on a rainbow as you jog awkwardly down the backroads of your hometown. I may never see that pre-baby body again, but I plan to never see it while running for no particular reason.

I’m going to write for thirty minutes every day. Or like, every other day. Because sometimes mama needs a nap, too. but 3000 words a week. THREE THOUSAND. The end game is to put out two novels by this day next year.

I’m going to finish thirty credit hours toward my Bachelor’s degree. I head to Southern New Hampshire University via my laptop this year, and I could not be more pumped.

I’m going to tell as many people as I can about these goals, because I need people who will be disappointed in me if I give up.

What are your goals this year?

One thought on “HAPPY NEW YEAR

  1. Rai:
    I will be totally disappointed in you if you don’t finish your bachelor’s degree from SNHU! LOL. It’s simply too easy to do well there. I’ll be monitoring your school progress as well as your writing progress at every SP meeting to help you stay motivated. I know you’ll do the same for me. (I’m finishing my Master’s and writing books 2 and 3 in my series.)
    *Tracie

Leave a Reply

