So I was supposed to post yesterday, per the new blogging schedule. (Twice a week, by the way. Me Monday and Cheri Friday)

Then my sister went and had a baby.

And we were all up for like forty eight hours strait.

Because she was in labor FOREVER.

And mom yelled at a nurse.

It was an adventure.

Anyway. The post.

I’ve jumped on the NaNoWriMo train again this year, with great hope of not quitting halfway through like I normally do. I’m trying my hand at “Women’s Fiction” (read: chick lit), which I have never attempted and am not cure I will even like. What’s a story without a spaceship and phasers?

It’s what I’m writing for the whole month of November, is what.

What are the keys to a good NaNoWriMo? I really don’t know. But if I had to guess, I would guess the following:

1. It’s Going to Suck

Seriously. Just let it be awful. The point of NaNoWriMo is word count, not quality. Resist the urge to go back and edit or to find just the right word. Just write. Let the words flow. Furiously. You can break out the great red pen next month.

2. Accountability

If you are the only one who knows you are doing the challenge, it’s easier to give up. If people know you are doing it and you know you are going to be asked “So how is that novel-writing thing coming?”, you may be more likely to stick with it, if for no other reason than to save face and next Sunday’s brunch.

3. It’s just a month, you big baby.

For real, anyone can do anything for thirty days. No excuses. My husband is about to go out of town for the rest of the month, I have to pack up the house because we are moving the day after Thanksgiving, I am subbing for a PreK class for six days and my oldest has recently decided that the potty is for losers and communists. If I can do it, you can do it. Suck it up and write.

I can’t wait to see what people come up with, and I can’t wait to hold up my finished manuscript and hear this in the background:

 

Leave a Reply

