This weekend I attended the Florida Heritage Book Festival. Rai and I went with Little Bit and had a great time.

We didn’t attend any classes or purchase any books on writing. We didn’t even get a bookmark. We weren’t supposed to “get” anything at all. We were there to give back to an organization that has contributed mightily to our writing careers and we were happy to fulfill that purpose. So, we manned the FWA table passing out literature and signing people up for the newsletter.

And yet…

We got to hang out with Vic Digenti which is always a pleasure. I made several business contacts and got to talk with two delightful folks possessed of a wealth of life experience who may end up inspiring my next short story. Patricia Charpentier happened by and I got to spend a few minutes thanking her for her book, “Eating an Elephant: Write Your Life One Bite at a Time.” Even though it focuses primarily on memoir, her book still provided me with some great tools for my fiction tool box and I will always be grateful for it. Best of all, I got to hang out with Rai and watch people be charmed by the wonder that is a peacefully sleeping baby. It was a great day.

Done right, giving back provides a lot of joy, so I encourage you to look around and see where you can lend a hand. It’s one of the few true win/wins life affords us and well worth the effort. Not to mention the fact that it’s the right thing to do.

Leave a Reply

