SheCanBeTaughtI know a few things about writing – about how to set a scene, convey an emotion, heighten tension and deepen characterization, mostly because I’ve had wonderful, talented teachers. In fact, I make it a point to have a teachable mind, because I really don’t think its possible to be successful in any career without one. I’ve spent a lot of years pursuing the craft of writing and I flatter myself that, in this field, I can call myself “experienced,” though not “expert.”

But now, I’m the newbie. I can write, but the world of marketing baffles me. Maintaining this blog and the occasional Twitter post is almost all I know about the subject. So what do you do when you don’t know enough to teach? You sit at the feet of others and you learn.

Fortunately there are a lot of very sharp professionals out there who have already walked the path I’m on. Equally lucky is the fact that all the individuals I’ve met and talked with are more than willing to help a newbie succeed. People like Jennie Jarvis, Susan Kiernan-Lewis, Rick Feeney and Ben Hale, along with a host of others, have been generous with their advice and assistance. In many careers, you don’t find that kind of benevolence because those who are successful are in competition with you. But, in writing, it’s more like a network where no one has to lose in order for someone to win.

So right now I’m reading more non-fiction than I’ve ever read before. Five Writers, Book Baby Blog, Kindle Boards and so many more, are offering great information, for FREE. And I’m devouring it sentence by juicy sentence. Will it make me successful? I haven’t a clue. But it is certain that I am equipping myself as completely as possible for the challenges ahead and that is only possible because I’m willing to admit that I don’t know but I’m willing to be taught.

What don’t you know? Are you willing to be taught?

Leave a Reply

