Life has gotten the better of me for several weeks and I have gotten next to no reading done. 

Well, that’s not entirely true. I’ve gotten some reading done, but because I have book schizophrenia and can’t read just one book, I haven’t completed any of them. Because I’m great.

So what am I reading?

Bright Horizons – An indie sci-fi novel by Wilson Harp. I won’t provide you any spoilers or any of my impressions yet, because the review will be up next Monday or possibly the Monday after that. Thanks for your patience, Wilson! If you;ld like to take a look at the book before I review it, it’s here.

Mostly Harmless – The final novel in The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by the great Douglas Adams. The man is a genius, and hilariously funny. Also, did you know he used to write for the original Doctor Who series? There are several allusions to him and his work throughout the new series, which is adorable. 

Image

 

The Insanity of God – Written by Nik Ripken, which is a pseudonym, because the man is a missionary in incredibly dangerous parts of the world. I’m only a chapter or two in, and this book is already breaking my heart. This is the heaviest read on the list, probably because it in non-ficiton, and also has to do with deep spiritual and theological issues. Probably should be reading it on its own, but, as we know, that would be ridiculous.

What are you reading right now? Are you a single book reader or a serial reader like me?

2 thoughts on “On My Bookshelf Take

  1. Have you read Douglas Adams’ ” Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency” ? If you like British fantasy then you MUST read ” AngelMaker” by Nick Harkaway. Yup- I run two at a time- at least. Just finished ” Life after Life” by Kate Atkinson, which is truly brilliant. Have you tried William Boyd ? Writes thriller which are proper novels. Try ” Resistance” or “Waiting for Sunrise”

    Like

Leave a Reply

