My daughter’s new obsession is Winnie the Pooh. We have all the episodes of the series from the nineties, and she would happily watch every episode over and over again.

While she’s watching the show, enjoying every minute, all I can focus on is that EVERY SINGLE PROBLEM on this show is caused by one of the characters seeing something and jumping to the wrongest possible conclusion. Literally every time. Usually this is followed by them needing to move away and never come back.

For real. You’re stuffed animals. Calm down.

I was being annoyed at the show when I realized that we do the exact same thing. It’s so easy to see something and make our own decision about what we are seeing. For some reason, we love to be upset; we love a reason for our feelings to be hurt; we love to be a victim. I still can’t figure out exactly why that is, I just know that I am as guilty of it as anyone else. 

It’s amazing, though, how it can escalate. We receive a piece of information that strikes us wrong. Instead of seeking out the original source, we let it seep into our heads, building, growing, sometimes festering, while we build a story of circumstances around it. Suddenly minor annoyance turns into real anger, and we still don’t have all of the information!

Come on, I can’t be the only person that does this. If I am, don’t tell me. That would be horrifying.

Maybe life would be a little sweeter if we set aside our own desire to be wronged. And maybe we should all watch a little more Winnie the Pooh. Tigger is hilarious.

One thought on “Assumption Rag

  1. “For some reason, we love to be upset; we love a reason for our feelings to be hurt; we love to be a victim. I still can’t figure out exactly why that is, I just know that I am as guilty of it as anyone else.”

    Being a victim is where the reward is when you have a society that rewards being a victim. Our society rushes to soothe someone who is upset, to make amends for offense, and to support the oppressed.

    All good things, but then people start using the phrase “I feel” in front of the claims:
    I feel like a victim
    I feel offended
    I feel oppressed

    We have long ago removed ourselves from the truth of the phrase “So what?”

    If you can get the same reward for feeling like a victim as actually being a victim, where is the downside? That’s simple human nature.

Leave a Reply

