I have a tendency to wonder about things.  I wonder if corporate America is really scheming to take over our educational system in order to increase profits. (Probably.) I wonder if I’m good at my job. (Possibly, hopefully.) I wonder if the person who just cut me off in traffic needs a complete attitude adjustment or just a rigorous course in the reasonable operation of a motor vehicle.  (Maybe both.)

While I’m wondering about these things, I write, and take classes on writing, and teach and grandmother and wife and mom and complain to my husband about the aforementioned bad driver. Fortunately for all concerned I do these things one at a time because, the usual expectations of my gender aside,” I am a one focus type of gal.

I can’t help it. With the exception of a few special situations, I have the attention span of a Chihuahua.100_1881

I am, in fact, so easily distracted that I have been known to stop mid-sentence and

In general, I don’t mind this issue. It’s part of who I am and I’ve kind of learned to live with it. I do understand that it can be extremely irritating to those around me. My husband, in particular, has experienced a colossal increase to his patience gland due to having to live with me.

My point is, I know this about myself. I understand and accept, but I also try to take steps to decrease the effect of my attention deficit on others. As a person who wonders, I got to thinking about my disorder and realized that everyone, and I do mean everyone, has issues. I’m not talking about actual, diagnosed illnesses. That is a whole different kettle of popcorn. I mean just regular, everyday faults.  We all know someone who is chronically tardy, or forgetful or impatient.  Everyone has flaws.  But do we all recognize that we are part of “everyone?”

One of my biggest pet peeves is the statement, “that’s just how I am.” The implication being that a person knows they have this fault, but they aren’t willing to at least try and improve. Instead they expect all those around them to simply learn to live with it. Not cool, oh faulty one. Not at all cool.

Not that we need to get all Judgy Jean on each other. We need to be compassionate and forgiving of each other’s foibles. But we also need to work to become kinder, better, more responsible versions of ourselves. Tell you what…I’ll try if you will. Who knows, if even twenty percent of us did that…

teacup_yorkie_pink_bowOh look, a puppy with a pink bow….

2 thoughts on “Faulty Rag

  1. “Piste” hmmmm. I’m not familiar with the spelling, tho the word sounds like it might be familiar. 😉
    I have heard that men treat shopping like a search and destroy mission while women tend to view it as a social outing…
    At any rate, I didn’t intend to be gender specific. Humans have faults. It’s the way of the species, but that doesn’t mean we shouldn’t attempt to make repairs in as consistent a manner as possible. Not trying to be a better human being based on the, “that’s just the way I am,” universal acceptance trope is a cop out. In my humble opinion, that is.

    Like

Leave a Reply

