I have a problem with wrongness. More specifically, other people’s wrongness (as perceived by me, obviously, because I’m 100% right, 100% of the time. Obviously).

I get so angry when people hold an opinion or stance I see as incorrect, because howcantheypossiblythinkthatwayOMG. Don’t they realize how very, very wrong they are? I must tell them so! I must tell them so until they agree with me!

I did this today actually, because someone was, as someone usually is, WRONG ON THE INTERNET. I started arguing, typing furiously, needing to convince this person of the error of his thoughts.

And then my adult brain returned. 

We hold our opinions so dear and so close that we forget that they are just that: opinions. Somehow we’ve managed to buy into the lie that another person’s opinion somehow threatens our own, makes it less secure. I am so guilty of this. I’m a crunchy sort of person, the kind that doesn’t buy corn because its more machine than vegetable and thinks the best place for a baby to be born is at home…under a willow tree, with Yanni playing in the background, probably.  It’s so hard for me to talk about inductions and non-organic produce without getting angry, because darn it, I’m right! You’re wrong!

We’re probably all guilty of this. Guarding our opinions so closely that we drive away people who think differently. Maybe we should start taking ourselves a little less seriously and start realizing that, at the end of the day, you can only choose for you, and I can only choose for me, and maybe it’s ok if we choose differently.

The one caveat to this is if someone is of the opinion that they should kill you with a machete. That being the case, I suggest you do everything you can to convince them otherwise.

3 thoughts on “Wrong Rag

  1. On the other hand, you mustn’t be afraid to stick to your principles. Have you noticed that behaviour is sometimes ” unacceptable” – – everything…and I mean everything is relative. Not for me. But then I’m a crabby old bloke. I still cling to the duality of “right and wrong” when things really get to the crunch.

    1. I agree with you, when it comes to important things. Matters of clearly right and clearly wrong, moral duty and the like. But I think we all have things that are simply opinion; things that, in the long run, don’t matter much, that we still cling to as if they are life and death. That’s where things get a bit silly.
      Thanks for reading and commenting!

Leave a Reply

