pen_nib_with_reflectionIn two weeks I have two meetings, both with agents, at the FWA writers conference in Altamonte Springs. I have two opportunities to convince professionals, complete strangers, that my book is not only good, but worth publishing. It’s kind of an important set of meetings.

And I have no idea what to say.

Well, that’s not quite true. According to my research, I will need a couple of tools to make my pitch. A 1-2 page synopsis and the pitch itself.

Oh, and apparently a winning personality wouldn’t hurt, but that’s a topic for another post.

I’ve got the synopsis. I’m having a bit more trouble with the pitch. According to Michael Hyatt, you need four pieces of information:

  1. Your product name and category.
  2. The main character’s ambition.
  3. The conflict he or she encounters.
  4. The real significance of the story.

So: my novel is called Rephaim: The Beginning. It is a fantasy novel, well, sort of. Is there such a thing as Christian fantasy? The main character is Fomor, the leader of a seven angel unit who fled the war in heaven in order to avoid either betraying their God or killing their siblings (other angels). After a time of wandering the angels encounter a village of extraordinary humans and, as the world grows darker and more evil, they fall in love. Fomor wants to find a new purpose for his eternal life. What he needs is redemption.

There, the information doesn’t seem to be hard to come by. But stuffing all that into less than 250 word in a form that will, “hook” an agent? Ah, there is the issue.

Any suggestions?

3 thoughts on “Pitched Block

  1. I hope you don’t mind, but I’ve tinkered with your text. I have ticked three of the four requirements- but it’s only 85/250 words so you still have room to expand.

    Your product name and category.
    The main character’s ambition.
    The conflict he or she encounters.
    The real significance of the story.

    1.My novel is called Rephaim: The Beginning. It is a fantasy novel and the main character is Fomor, the leader of a seven angel unit who fled the war in heaven in order to avoid either betraying their God or killing their siblings. Fomor wants to find a new purpose for his eternal life.2 But they cannot escape a moment of decision. In a village of extraordinary humans the angels fall in love as the world grows darker and more evil.3.

    I can’t really go into 4 as I’m not familiar with the narrative structure. You’ve only got 84 words here- so there’s quite a bit of room to expand. I hope you don’t think me presumptious.

    1. I don’t find you presumptuous at all. This is exactly what I was hoping for. Thanks for the input. The real significance of the story, as I see it anyway, is the limitless possibility of redemption. Of course, the reader (whoever that turns out to be) may have their own ideas. Your suggestions are helpful in moving me closer to my “elevator pitch.” Elevator pitches are only supposed to be two sentences long, so this fits the criteria. I need to develop an expanded description as well. Thanks for the help!

Leave a Reply

