Codex AleraSuccess! I made it through all six books in the Codex Alera Series by Jim Butcher. I love getting to the end of the series and finding out what happens to all the characters. I also hate getting to the end of the series sometimes, because sometimes I want there to be more. This isn’t one of those times. I have enjoyed my time in Alera. The characters were engaging, the plot exciting, filled with reversals and cliff hangers, sometimes literally. Plus, right I was never completely certain I wasn’t reading a tragedy. The best part about the series? Without doubt, the depth of the characters. Throughout the series Tavi, Amara, Fidelias and any number of others struggle through human dilemmas that, though on an entirely different playing field, are not dissimilar from our own. Determining the lines they will and will not cross, even for the best of reasons, is a major theme in all of the books, and becomes even more pervasive in the last. They struggle, they make mistakes and just as in life, they are never sure of the full consequences until the act is done and it is too late to change the outcome. The worst part? Well, I don’t know that there is a worst part. Or if there is, it isn’t all that bad. There were some spots where the writing could have used some additional polish. A place or two, especially at the end, where it got a bit trite, as if Butcher had been getting tired when he wrote it. Still and all, I was happy for them, or at least the ones who lived, and I wish them well. Except for the vord. I hope all of them die painful deaths. I know that Isana would not agree but hey, the vord are evil and I don’t like mean, er, um, critters. A fun ride and well worth the price of admission, especially if you check it out from the library like I did. Worth a second read at some point in the future? Probably not. Have you read any of the series? What did you think?

Leave a Reply

