One of the things I miss about not living further north is snow. Not that I ever lived in a place where it happened a lot, but I do miss the possibility of fluffy mounds of cold white, piled into a snowman or body planed into an icy angel. When I was a kid growing up in California, our family used to take trips “to the snow” every winter and come December I miss that. Hot cocoa, frosted laughter and, oddly enough, cold, wet mittens, are among my favorite memories. There are pictures somewhere, but I tend to prefer the images preserved in my mind, even doctored by time and nostalgia as I know they must be. A picture gives you the visual, but a memory…that is a feast for the heart.

That said, and in honor of snow, I Googled snowflakes and this is what I found. Enjoy.

snowflake1

Leave a Reply

