I didn’t do NaNoWriMo.

I know. But to be fair, I did warn you. Follow through is not my strong suit.

It did get me thinking though, about finishing.

I am very prone, when I write, to be caught in the idea that, if I write slowly and carefully enough, I can have a beautiful rough draft that requires absolutely no editing whatsoever, ready, in its infancy to be sent to agents around the globe who will faint at the sight of its glory.

Sadly, that’s (duh) not the case.

No matter how carefully or slowly I write my first draft, all that care and sluggishness accomplishes is keeping my manuscript from ever being completed. That’s the whole draw of NaNoWriMo. To write, free from the pressure of making the work “good”. The goal is only to finish, to hod up a manuscript and say “it’s done!” You can red pen anything you want later.

So, as I finish this very short (but, hey, Thanksgiving is tomorrow) post, I just say this:

Whether you did NaNoWriMo or not, I dare you to free yourself from the need to make the work good and just make it finished. Good can come after.

Now where’s my red pen?

One thought on “Finishing Block

Leave a Reply

