I don’t think it’s any secret that I struggle with focus.

My husband will be the first to tell you that I go through hobbies the way most people go through….shirts? Calender pages? I really can’t think of a good analogy that isn’t underwear.

See? It’s a problem.

So when this months issue of Writer’s Digest came (to my mother’s house, from whence I stole it), plastered with things like “BEAT WRITER”S BLOCK WITH NO FOCUS AT ALL NO REALLY!” I was skeptical but totally on board.

And let me just say, that article has totally changed my life. Maybe. To be honest, I’d settle for it changing the way I write, hopefully turning into something a little more streamlined and less Ugh.

There was a ton of brilliant advise, and if you want the full text, you should go grab yourself a subscription to Writer’s Digest (which they did not pay me to say, BTW, I just love them, like really), but the points that really stood out to me were as follows:

1. If you fall into the trap of social media (Um, yea), rewire your brain. Start your day writing instead of checking Facebook.

This sounds awesome in theory. The first thing I do when I get up is check Facebook. To free myself from that imagined obligation would be paradise. But I don’t know that I can gear myself up to write at 5:45 in the morning. I have to be at work at 6:45, people. I just don’t know that the creative juices are flowing when the sun hasn’t even bothered to make an appearance yet. But I’ll try, I swear!

2. Set a reverse deadline. Schedule 45 minutes to write and don’t get up to do anything until that time is up.

Again. I would love to do this. It would kick my butt, because for me to do anything for 45 minutes is a huge stretch, but it might be just the kick in the pants I need to get the creative juices flowing. The only problem for me is the thirteen month old terrorist living in my house. She does not like the idea of my doing 45 minutes of anything that doesn’t directly involve her.

3. Set a weekly word count instead of a daily one. That way, if one day isn’t good, you can catch up later.

Some days, inspiration strikes, circumstances line up beautifully, Hubs and Munch sleep late, and I can write 1000 words in half an hour. Other days, I can’t catch a break to blow my nose, let alone write anything resembling good prose. This idea allows me to cut myself some slack while still having the motivation of a goal.

There was also a lot about knowing why you want to write, where you want it to take you, and using that as motivation. I have a hard time with theoreticals, but anything that would allow me more time at home with the Munchkin, I am completely down with. I would love that thing to be writing. Here’s hoping.

What good writing advise have you had this week?

Leave a Reply

