It’s funny how serendipity works. The other day I was reading an article by Nina Amir in the September issue of Writer’s Digest called “Blogging Your Way to a Book Deal.” It was a really interesting article and I thought, “Hmmm, I wonder if I could do that?” And then I put the idea away in my, “something to think about” file and forgot about it. Or so I thought.

A couple of days later I was out running errands and, as is usual, doing some of my best thinking while driving down the road. (Don’t worry; I don’t close my eyes or anything. I just multi-task. Mostly.) I was thinking about The Brass Rag, and education, and politics, and the economy, and how important it is to give back to the culture in which you live, and how hard it is for a person to do much on their own, and writing, and how sad it was that the library was having to cut hours and staff due to funding issues, and…stuff. (Yeah, my thought process is sort of a chain reaction affair. Weird, but it works for me.) Anyway, all that thinking sort of moshed together until…

It hit me; maybe each person is like a candle, with only one small light to shine, but a bunch of people? That’s a bonfire. Between work, FB, Twitter and The Brass Rag, I have a lot of friends and colleagues. Through them, I’m connected to literally thousands of people. With that kind of base, what kind of fire could I light? Back to the article, and The Brass Rag. See that, serendipity at work.

What if WE, meaning you, me, Rai, and every reader we can reach; what if WE blogged a book together and donated the proceeds to an educational or literacy charity or non-profit? How many people could we involve? What kind of collaboration is feasible? Is such a thing even possible?

I think it’s worth a shot. I believe that by working together we can make a difference. Who is with me?

Leave a Reply

