I waited until this morning to post (On PURPOSE, Mom), because last night was, in case you missed it, the Opening Ceremonies of the Olympics. Supposedly it’s only the 30th Olympics, which doesn’t make any sense because didn’t Hitler host them in like, 1936?

Anyway.

I’ve heard mixed reviews about the show, mostly becasue it didn’t make any sense. I mean, it did, but it probably made way more sense in theory, and then in execution just made everyone go “wait…what?”.

That said, I LOVED it. I loved that they didn’t try and compete with China, but made it  their own. I loved the Queen “parachuting” in. I loved the Britain through history bit (which glossed over the Imperial ownng of various other countries. Well played, England) and included this guy:

ImageIt took my friends and I a good ten minutes of “Who IS that guy?” to realize, oh, yea, he’s this guy.

I loved the British Music bit (like an acid trip on crumpets, it was).

But I loved, I Loved, I LOVED the British children’s literature bit. I think it was the part that confused people the most, but I have to say, it was probably my absolute favorite of the entire ceremony.

In case you missed it, here are the essentials.

A singing and dancing children’s hospital becomes haunted by black furry ghoulies and is attacked by Cruella DeVille, Captain Hook and LORD VOLDEMORT, who are then vanquished by an army of 100 Mary Poppins’s (Poppinses?).

For Serious.

ImageAlso Mr. Bean played Chariots of Fire. A+, London.

2 thoughts on “Opening Ceremonies

  1. Great post! I have the show DVR’ed but have yet to watch it. Just about everyone around me made it sound like an atrocity but after reading what you wrote I will be checking it out tonight when I get home. Thanks for the insight!!

Leave a Reply

