When I was growing up, my literature of choice was usually classic children’s books (I read The Secret Garden a dozen times) and the occasional Harlequin romance from my grandmother’s living room, where she kept a basket of them next to her chair. I didn’t join the ranks of science fiction and fantasy enthusiasts until I discovered Harry Potter in the sixth grade. Even then, the furthest I ventured into the genre was Timothy Zahn’s Heir to the Empire series. 

Recently it occurred to me that there is an entire wealth of science fiction and fantasy novels that I have never picked up, but are considered classics by lovers of those genres. Legends of Earthsea and The Sword of Truth series are two I have in the house, but there is a whole slew of fantastical books just waiting to be discovered. My goal is twofold. Firstly, to actually read something once in awhile, because seriously, I don’t think I’ve read an actual book in over a year. Secondly, to discover some of the great classics of teh science fiction and fantasy genres and actually sound like I know what I’m talking about with fellow nerds.

On the list:

The John Carter series by Edgar Rice Burroughs

The Land That Time Forgot by Edgar Rice Burroughs

The Legends of Earthsea by Ursula K Leguin

The Sword of Truth by Terry Goodkind

The Collected Works of Jules Verne

Also HG Wells

Any suggestions for the list?

5 thoughts on “Classics

  1. I took an SF class at school and these were what we had to read and a few that I perused on my own:
    Nueromancer by William Gibson, also any short stories by him
    Timescape by Gregory Benford
    Lilith’s Brood by Octavia Butler, another great one by her is Kindred
    Ubik by Philip K Dick
    Watchmen by Alan Moore & Dave Gibbons
    short stories by James Tiptree Jr.
    The Word for World is Forest by Ursula K Leguin & I haven’t read it yet but I’ve heard that The Left Hand of Darkness is good too.
    Jurassic Park is amazing, by Mr. Crichton
    and Fahrenheit 451 if you haven’t read it already

    Hope these give you some ideas 🙂

    1. Thanks for the recommendations! I’ve read Fahrenheit 451 (LOVED) and Watchmen (eh). I’ve tried, three times, to read The Left Hand of Darkness. Maybe fourth time’s the charm?

Leave a Reply

