No Wednesday post, because it was Independence Day and who works on Independence Day, I’d like to know?

Not me, that’s for sure.

But today is not a holiday, so post I must.

I’ve been thinking recently about where I find inspiration. When I find myself in a literary rut, where do I go to pull myself out?

The whole thought process came about a week ago, when I put on a Baby Einstein’s CD. We don’t have a CD player, so any music we want to listen to on a large scale is put into the Playstation and played through the TV. The cool thing is that the Playstation makes visuals as you listen that go along with the beat of the music.

Like this

Anyway, I was watching, and realized that a visual concept I had been trying so hard to describe in my novel was sitting right in front of me.

Inspiration comes from so many places. People around us, other works of fiction in whatever format they may be, completely random, PS3 related scenarios. I think the important thing is to be on the lookout for inspiration wherever it may be. We live in an amazing world, full of beauty and ugliness, joy and sorrow, silliness and somber…ness. You get the point.

What it comes down to is keeping your eyes open and seeing everything not just for what it is, but what it could be. You never know where your next stroke of genius may be lurking.

Leave a Reply

