Celtic Tree of Life

Honor.

Faith.

Family.

If I were going to get a tattoo, these three words would be part of it. The rest would be a Celtic Tree of Life…or a butterfly, I can’t decide.

But I digress. Why those three words?

Honor: because it embodies all the best qualities a human being can have. It encloses the attributes of integrity, loyalty and humility. In a world where “getting ahead” often seems to require a person to jettison all ideas of personal honor, it is, perhaps, an old fashioned virtue. But the truth is, if you don’t have honor, neither can you have love, or trust, or self respect.

Faith: Because with faith all things are possible. Faith assures me of a power greater than myself who not only has the ability but the will to guide, protect and provide for me. Faith comforts me in the darkness when it is the only light. Faith provides courage and strength to my weary mind, calms my tattered heart and cradles my battered soul in its healing embrace.

Family: because they accept me for who I am and expect that I will do the same for them. Family is the embodiment of a pure and holy love, despite the faults and failings attendant on the human condition. Its power lies in the fact that they know who I am, and I know who they are, and we forgive, love and celebrate each other anyway. Family is God’s generous provision for human kind. It is His second most precious gift and must never be abandoned or lost.

After long and thoughtful consideration, these are my core values. What are yours?

2 thoughts on “Core Values Rag

  1. I’m doing a Spanish Family Tree project (For Spanish class >.<) And I used this tree as a template for it. I want to post it on my DeviantArt account, but want to know if it's alright with you. That is if you're the one who did this 😄

    1. This is a clip I got online. I just googled “Celtic tree of life.” There were a lot of different ones, but I liked this one best. You are more than welcome to use it, but it isn’t “mine.” Thanks for the comment and for stopping by The Brass Rag. And good luck on the Spanish project.

Leave a Reply

