WB Kitteh

I have never had Writer’s Block. Before now, I mean. But, since I’ve rewritten that first sentence at least six times, maybe this qualifies. But probably not. According to Coco J. Ginger, “Not writing is ache, betrayal, death of the soul and imagination.”  I don’t know that I would go that far, but not being able to write certainly sounds painful.

Then again, perhaps I am simply too undisciplined to fully experience the dreaded Block. I do, as all the writing guru’s urge, designate writing time and make it a priority. But on those days when my muse stays in bed or simply runs and hides, I can never find the fortitude to sit and stare at the keyboard. Instead, I brew a cup of tea and work on something else: my blog, research, cover art, poetry, organize files, editing, etc. Most days it isn’t long before something I see or hear sends me back to the current work. Plus, the time I’ve spent in other areas is never wasted.

If I really want to work on the current project, but I’m having trouble getting started, I use another of my favorite strategies; distraction, also known as free writing. As the song says, “You can’t always get what you want,/ but if you try, sometimes/ you just might find,/ you get what you need.” So you’re feeling stuck. So? Take out a nice fresh piece of paper (or open a blank file) and write whatever comes to mind, even if it’s just, “this is really, really, really dumb,” ten or eleven times. Eventually, something interesting will come. Or not. But you’re writing, and that is half the battle.

I do, as it happens, experience, “Time Block” and “Relationship Block.”  However, those are other problems for another post. In the meantime – Happy writing.

Leave a Reply

