I have a problem.

It’s not really a problem, I don’t think, unless you think a grown woman having a very strong emotional attachment to characters in a children’s book is a problem.

Which it isn’t.

So there.

The point is, I’m a bonafide Harry Potter fanatic. It’s a little unhealthy at times, but if that’s my worst obsession, I think we’re ok. There really are worse obsessions in the world.

I came by it sort of by accident during my sixth grade year. I walked into my sister’s room, and heard my father read the following words:

“Maybe you could attach an extra arm to yours, Malfoy. It could catch the Snitch for you.”

I read the first three in the space of two weeks, and was immediately hooked. I was part of the following that had to wait years between books and attended midnight book releases and “shipped” (I would like it known that I was Hr/G and R/H from the beginning, thank you) and everything else that went along with being a Harry Potter fan during that time period.

It was marvelous.

Every year, I do a reread of the entire series. It’s a little ridiculous, but every time, I find something a little newand a little better. So technically this isn’t a review, it’s just telling you to keep your eyes open for the next 14 weeks. Every other Monday, I’ll be posting my revelations and musings as I reread the Harry Potter series.  I would love it if you read along with me.

In the meantime, here’s this. I’m 16, at the midnight release of Goblet of Fire, the movie. Look at the hair. And the scarf. And the eyeshadow. Good grief.

So, you have two weeks to read Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone and report back. Ready? GO

 

One thought on “Our Take: Intro the THE REREAD

Leave a Reply

