One of these days I’m actually going to blog on the day I’m supposed to. I will be dependable and adult. Although I guess it could be said that I am dependable in that you can always depend on my posts being a day late.

At least that’s what I tell myself.

So there.

I am currently in the middle of a rather wicked case of writer’s block.

Let’s be honest though. It’s not that I can’t think of what to write. It’s that now, about twelve chapters into my novel, I’ve realized that I have to go back and not only add foreshadowing, but change the entire POV from first person to third person omniscient and change it from present tense to past tense. Add to that the fact that one of my supporting characters is not behaving well at ALL, and it all adds up to a great big pile of “I-don’t-wanna”

I’m awesome at writer’s block, by the way. I can find a thousand things to distract me. My Sweet Potato Pie (aka The Baby aka Munch aka Cutie-Pants McGee) is pretty much constant, and even when she’s sleeping I can watch Game of Thrones do laundry, sew clothes for Munch, watch Game of Thrones, clean my increasingly-messy home.

Watch Game of Thrones.

I get to a point in my work where the magnitude of actually writing a book, then having to go back and basically rewrite it to get rid of all the mistakes or, in the case, do a massive overhaul of the whole thing, is just overwhelming. And I don’t do overwhelming. Seriously. I have a very low whelming threshold. And I’m not even sure whelming is a word.

I’m great at ignoring problems and hoping they’ll go away on their own. It’s the reason you can’t see the floor in my sewing room and my laundry never gets put away.It’s also the reason that my dream of being the next great American author and having a slightly-judgmental-on-his-part-because-that’s-how-he-interviews-everyone conversation with Matt Lauer on morning TV will never be a reality.

Because I’m easily overwhelmed and writer’s block blows.

Or I could just suck it up and go write already.

But I have to blog.

And do laundry.

And watch Game of Thrones.

And that’s very important.

I’ve heard.

So spill. How do you overcome Writer’s Block?

One thought on “Rag: Writer’s Block OR Listen to me whine about having Writer’s Block. In a charming way.

Leave a Reply

